God's day. This is the day that the Lord has made; Let us rejoice and be glad in it. Psalm 118: 24

Leah

Originally published April 1 2009 on four moms

Welcome to Love Is…

I hope to use this space to share my successes and struggles in trying to pick up Jesus’ cross and die to myself.  So here is a bit about me:

I am so fortunate to have known Jesus my whole life.  I cannot remember a time that I did not believe in God, and do not think there ever was such a time.  There have been times when I have had questions, big questions, lots of questions, scary questions, flippant questions, yet I always had faith that God would answer them, even if I did not know how.

Right now though, something is different.  I have been praying for an intimate relationship with God, while returning to a childlike faith of trusting that what God wants for me is always (of course) what is best for me.  This is taking me to new and exciting, yet frightening places.  I struggle daily against my sinful, selfish, prideful, egotistical nature and ask God for the kind of love necessary to follow him instead.  I praise God for his love, forgiveness and grace by which I am saved.

I am also trying to figure out specifically how God intends me to ‘Love the Lord your God with all your heart, soul and mind and love your neighbour as yourself.’ (paraphrase of Matthew 22:37-39).  At this point in my life it definitely includes serving as wife to my wonderful husband and mommy to my two joyful and life loving children.

Alongside with growing closer to God and my family, I am passionate about gentle and respectful parenting, breastfeeding, homebirth, reducing my environmental impact, growing our own food and buying locally as much as we can that we cannot grow, traveling, camping, communing with God in nature, reading, allowing my kids to be enthusiastic life long learners, hanging out with good friends over good food and writing.

Thanks for coming to share this space with us. I pray God will provide you with something you need here.

Leah

Leave a Reply

