God's day. This is the day that the Lord has made; Let us rejoice and be glad in it. Psalm 118: 24

Portraits

I’m walking down the hallway and I look over, as I tend to do, towards the wall that holds my babes newborn photos.

Haven is in the sling as I am doing  a morning tidy and at the end of the hall Liam and Raine pop around the corner.  They are both talking.  About what, I am not sure.  I am too engulfed, almost undone, by the six and three short years those sweet babes have grown into the  individuals in front of me.  Just like all those grandmas told me, gone in a blink.  And if I wasn’t the woman who birthed them I wouldn’t know that they are the same people at all.  Even the true baby at just ten months earthside, already is hardly recognizable  from that new soul gazing up from the wall.  The chattering continues, then finished sharing their joy with me,  they shoot off on their next exploration.

 But my mind continues to sit and ponder the portraits and the living, breathing masterpieces as I go about my work.  Throughout the day I begin to see fragments that connect them both.  The shinning eyes, the ears that stick out a little bit more than average, the perfect pink skin.  I have loved and cherished those babies in a way that words will never be able to describe, yet I see how the people they are becoming are stronger, faster, deeper,  and more understanding than their baby selves.  I feel blessed beyond words at being witness to this growing process too, turning them into people I love in a way that is just as indescribable as when they were new.

 And as I often do when I think about my parental feelings towards my children, I can’t help but wonder if God feels the same towards me, towards you, towards us all.  That He absolutely loves us beyond words as our baby selves, yet rejoices in the process of us growing closer to Him, loving deeper, becoming stronger in Jesus, less selfish, and more understanding.  And how I long to grow into someone unrecognizable from the portrait of who I am today – with only God seeing the genes He has planted that will carry me through into the person He created me to be.

4 responses

  1. Claire

    I love this! Really good thoughts – and I too hope I keep growing.

    Who is the first baby? Liam? Looks SO much like Aaron.

    May 19, 2011 at 5:39 pm

  2. First baby is Haven – yes she looks so much like Aaron still 🙂

    May 19, 2011 at 6:09 pm

  3. aaron

    We make cookie cutter babies… I even have trouble telling these apart. My ears and mouth your beautiful eyes and nose.

    May 20, 2011 at 4:55 am

  4. Love this post. Xoxo.

    May 24, 2011 at 4:51 am

Leave a Reply

