God's day. This is the day that the Lord has made; Let us rejoice and be glad in it. Psalm 118: 24

Today was hippie mom park day

And at hippie mom park day I really fully appreciated something for the first time.  It’s this – how there were happy groups of children ages three (littler ones with the mammas) through 12 all playing TOGETHER.  And yesterday Liam who is six and kindergarten age was playing monopoly with a friend (who happens to be a girl) and for the first time it dawned on me that if he went to school he would probably not be doing this – having playdates with kids of the opposite sex that is.  

Since I am sadly without a time machine, I am not sure where this will take us down the road, but for now I love that there is this inclusion present for their childhood.   I love that my son thinks of girls as his true equal – just as fun to play with as boys.  I love that my three year old will join right in with five and seven year olds and feels like an equal member of the group.  I love that my son’s repertoire of experiences playing with other kids is expanded, from much smaller kids (like his baby sister for instance whom he can make giggle like no one else) to much older kids who teach him new and exciting things too.

It excites me that my kids will be that much more used to interacting with a diverse group of individuals – and that as grown ups perhaps it won’t be ‘work’ for them to love and accept others who are different from themselves (and hopefully at best they won’t even think of them as different) – it will just be a normal part of life.

One response

  1. claire

    I love that too!

    May 15, 2011 at 1:44 pm

Leave a Reply

