God's day. This is the day that the Lord has made; Let us rejoice and be glad in it. Psalm 118: 24

Today was Mother’s Day

Of all the things God has done to grow me being a mother is absolutely at the top of the list.  Being mommy to my three little loves fills me with insane amounts of joy.

I am the type of mother who just wants everything to s-l-o-w down.  I wish motherhood came with a time capsule so I could bottle up some of the nursing the baby, the jumping on the trampoline laughing gleefully with the three year old, the hearing my six year count by 80’s, 60’s, 30’s over lunch.  I’d save them and bring out for when they are all grown and I have no more chubby baby thighs to squeeze, no more little hands helping me plant flowers or children’s voices ringing in the woods.

Sometimes I tease them.  ‘Stop growing’ or ‘no more growing’ I tell them while tickling or hugging them.  They protest and say but mommy I have to grow.  I say that I know and I am happy they are growing so heathy and strong.  Liam asks me why I say ‘stop growing ;)’.  I say I don’t want them to get too big for my hugs and kisses.  Liam says ‘Mommy I will never, ever, never be too big for your hugs and kisses.’   Mister I am holding you to that – as my time capsule.

Leave a Reply

