God's day. This is the day that the Lord has made; Let us rejoice and be glad in it. Psalm 118: 24

Goodbye 2010, Hello 2011

Well the new year is here and I am very excited about it.  On new years eve when everyone started talking about the past year, the resolutions and words they had for the year just ending I have to admit I was a little stumped.  Thinking back to the new years eve 2009 and wondering why the heck I had no real memories of talking to God about how I could grow closer to him in 2010, something which I really find enjoyment in.

Then I remembered – back in December (and for a good chunk of early 2010 as well) I was sooo sick with the beautiful little Haven Kate growing inside.  On new years eve I was vomiting and tired and feeling really gross and not thinking about resolutions at all.  But the last 2/3 of 2010 I was feeling so great and able to enjoy the amazing blessings God had in store for us last year.  Here is a fun list of some of our family favourites from 2010.

Family Favourites 2010
 
1.  Favourite Top event: Birth and addition to our family of the easy going  and easy to love Haven Kate
2.  Runner up: Moving to the country
3.  Favourite ‘I wish this never happened’ moment:  Liam’s broken arm and following surgery
4.  Favourite Personal highlights:
Aaron – tinkering in the garage, snorkeling in Hawaii, camping trips, starting renovations, doing projects outside with kids
Leah – Having and catching Haven Kate by herself, starting ‘officially’ homeschooling Liam, being outside with family and friends, hearing favourite authors speak, Monday Night Mom’s group
Liam – Riding two wheeler, boogie boarding and snorkeling, playing soccer, starting to read, camping, playing Lego and Lego games, playing outside with friends
Raine – Stuffies, water sliding, music class, drawing and painting, wearing dresses
Haven Kate – Watching her crazy siblings, dancing, nursing, playing peek a boo and being held
5.  Favourite spring activities:  Garden planting and moving
6.  Favourite summer activities:  Brand new baby holding and camping with family and friends
7.  Favourite fall activities:  Bonfires and jumping in leaves
8.  Favourite winter activities:  Sledding and water sliding
9.  Favourite Christmas memories:  Outdoor nativity walk and kids sleeping in front of Christmas tree
10.  Least surprising favourite family activity:  Water things – swimming, snorkeling, water sliding, slip’n’sliding, hot springs
11.  Most surprising favourite family activity:  Bird watching
12.  Favourite Books: 
Leah – A Million Miles in a Thousand Years
Aaron –  Larousse Gastronomique
Liam – the Magic Treehouse series and Dolphin Adventure
Raine – House on Pooh Corner and Sandra Boynton books
13.  Favourite speaker:  Carl Medearis http://www.carlmedearis.com/
14.  Favourite family board games:  Labyrinth and Creationary
15.  Favourite New recipe (unhealthy):  Sticky rolls from the Bread Baker’s Apprentice
16.  Favourite New recipe (healthy):  Whole wheat apple muffins (http://smittenkitchen.com/2008/04/whole-wheat-apple-muffins/) – we use all whole wheat flour
17. Favourite new thing made from our new fruit trees:  apple butter
18.  Favourite chip from the one thing that grew well in our garden:    http://allrecipes.com//Recipe/baked-kale-chips/Detail.aspx
19.  Favourite hotel TV show: Throw Down with Bobby Flay
20.Favourite movie to watch together:  Planet Earth

On a more personal note, 2010 was the year God really started showing me that He can’t be put into a box.  This was a challenging journey that I feel has just begun.  I haven’t really wrote about it here because it has been scary and worrisome and apathetic and sad and repentful and confusing and joyful and freeing all at the same and different times.  I have found less answers and more questions.  God is calling me closer and closer to him and I am starting to learn to trust in the joyous promise that God is more that anyone has ever imagined!  I want to continue to grow to love him more all the time and to have that be the first and foremost desire of my heart.

So in a year that started out feeling pretty miserable and just trying – to – make – it – through -each – day – God made so wonderful.  In ways that were greater than I could have ever imagined!  He really showed me that Today is God’s day each and every day.  As to what he has in store for me in 2011 – he has given me a little glimpse of how he wants me to grow (that I might share here tomorrow) but I know it will also hold all sorts of surprises that God just loves to give me that my imagination cannot even ponder right now.  And for that I am very excited!

7 responses

  1. Claire

    this made me cry – as you know I feel so similar about my journey with God this year – I felt myself so deeply in your words. I love your favorites list and I’m excited for 2011 with you.

    January 3, 2011 at 9:50 pm

    • Glad to have a friend like you!

      January 6, 2011 at 9:06 pm

  2. I can relate too (especially with bringing in 2010 with rough pregnancy feelings!). God has shown me that He is SO much more than I ever thought/knew before, and that there is even more of Him that He has yet to show me. I’m excited. But it has been scary for me too! 🙂 Blessings in the New Year, hope God brings you even more to praise His name.

    P.S. I’m really curious about Haven’s birth, and that you did it yourself! Beautiful! Did you ever blog about it? (Or maybe it is too close to your heart, which I understand.) It sounds surreal and amazing!

    January 4, 2011 at 2:42 am

    • Sarah – looking forward to seeing what blessings God brings you this year 🙂
      I haven’t blogged about Haven’s birth (yet anyway). Birth is something I feel pretty passionately about and her birth is very special and VERY close to my heart and I don’t want to lessen that by blogging about it, which I find can sometimes happen. So I am still deciding 🙂

      January 6, 2011 at 9:09 pm

      • If we ever meet in real life I would be happy to talk about it then too 🙂

        January 6, 2011 at 9:19 pm

  3. yes…Today is God’s day. thank you for that. such a way to begin a new year, knowing every sunrise belongs to the Father, that all the crazy ups and downs and unexpecteds are His to own and to guide us through. I think I will be saying that to myself frequently.

    btw, I love the name Haven…such a sweet, sweet image it brings to my mind. And my, aren’t we thankful for these later babies who are easy-going? *smile* God is good.

    January 6, 2011 at 2:41 pm

  4. Yes God is good Tonia! Each and every day and each and every baby such a gift- easy going or not (and I have had both :))

    January 6, 2011 at 9:11 pm

Leave a Reply

