God's day. This is the day that the Lord has made; Let us rejoice and be glad in it. Psalm 118: 24

A story of three t-shirts

About a month ago I read this blog post written by a young guy who goes to my church. I especially loved this sentence – ‘Part of this project is to inspire hope and re-imagination into our lives which are often filled with doubt and gloom.’  I was wanting to participate but procrastinating about actually making shirts when I got a call from a friend asking if I had read it I said yes I had and yes I had been wanting to do it too 🙂

So here are my shirts so nicely picked up by said friend from MEC printed with my sayings (coming up with the sayings was SO MUCH FUN – I encourage you to do it for a fun mental exercise even if you aren’t going to make your own shirts):

It’s been interesting wearing these for so many reasons.  I’ve had some really in-depth conversations with people about what is written on my shirts and why I am wearing only three shirts for a month.  (To encourage and inspire! – to start some growing conversations – to take away from the idol that is dressing myself attractively – to bring awareness to the ugliness of the clothing industry – to simplify my own wardrobe choices gaining freedom and fun in the process.)  Also I am sure that some people who see me regularly wondering why the heck I am wearing shirts like this every day who have just been too polite or wierded out to ask 😉

It has also opened up some interesting dialogue between myself and God.  It’s so amazing that God will always, always, always give us peace about something if (and this is a big if for me) we talk about it with him and let the holy spirit fill us with her presence and guidance.  I love that about God!

So can three shirts change the world?  I think it can – imagine if everyone only had three inspiring shirts all the time…

2 responses

  1. i love it! what a really great project. thank you for sharing…and thank for doing. it is inspiring and thought-provoking.

    November 30, 2010 at 2:50 pm

    • How kind of you to say so Tonia 🙂 Thank you.

      December 10, 2010 at 7:55 am

Leave a Reply

