God's day. This is the day that the Lord has made; Let us rejoice and be glad in it. Psalm 118: 24

Halloween Traditions

This is me and my mom when I was two: (Notice I am holding one pack of raisins and one mini chocolate bar – all the candy I got that year  :))

As you can see I have a longstanding history of matching family Halloween costumes.  My mom always dressed up with us when we were little and when there were more of us we even had some family years (Goldilocks and the three bears anyone?).  I have enjoyed doing the same thing with my kids and it is a lot of fun.  When it was just Liam I matched with him (my favourite was the year he was a monkey and I was a tree).  This year Raine wanted all the girls to be butterflies:

Liam (not being that into butterflies) wanted to be a lego man.  Here comes reason #5003 why I love my husband so much.

He spent hours with Liam making these costumes.  He wore it with pride (even when he was teasingly mocked by some of his peers at a Halloween party).  I know Liam will treasure this memory and show of love.  Plus he is fun (one of the first things that made me fall in love with him.)   We all enjoyed going out and meeting some of our neighbours we hadn’t had a chance to meet yet.  Something I am really wanting to do more of is getting connected with our neighbours an Halloween was a great reason to get out there and take action.  What do you enjoy about Halloween?

2 responses

  1. Claire

    that’s an awesome picture of you and your mom! Hello little Raine, you look exactly like her!

    November 9, 2010 at 7:14 am

  2. Aaron

    “Notice I am holding one pack of raisins and one mini chocolate bar – all the candy I got that year”……I need to point out… Raisins arent candy!!! Nor are pieces of withered 1/2 fermented dehydrated fruit.

    November 11, 2010 at 7:14 pm

Leave a Reply

