God's day. This is the day that the Lord has made; Let us rejoice and be glad in it. Psalm 118: 24

Running

I went on my first post baby run tonight.  Yesterday I did a yoga video.  Doing both felt really, really good.  Having three kids is busy.  You know how (if you are a mom) when you have your first baby it feels like you will never, ever get anything done ever again.  It’s all you can do to nurse and change and burp that baby.  Then by the time you have your fourth kid, you’ve just given birth and are cooking dinner for everyone else with your newborn in a sling?  (Okay I don’t have four but that is what I would imagine would happen).  This past week and a half with the broken arm saga and now having my most independent child need more help (getting dressed, going to the bathroom, opening things, cutting his food, etc.) has been slightly crazy even though it’s my third.  It has me thinking about balance and having some rhythm to our days so that things continue to flow around here in a way that keeps everyone happy, and um, fed.

One thing that is really important to me is exercise because I know how important it is to my mental, physical and parenting  health.  So I am making it a priority to squeeze some in most days from now on.  I hope to exercise every day Aaron is home – if he is away on work it’ll be on the maybe list.  I have a fitness goal of doing at least one sprint distance triathlon next spring (and hopefully one every month all summer if it works with our schedules.)  I planned to do one this year, but then I found myself pregnant, and while I know some who exercise through their entire pregnancies (I did with my son after the first twenty weeks were over) I only had just enough energy to just make it to the bathroom to throw up for basically the entire pregnancy, except the very end when I felt great.  So I am badly out of shape.

I know it’s crazy but I love to exercise – it makes me feel happy and free and energized and way, way more patient.  So it’s a must.  I didn’t make it a must after my middle daughter and everyone suffered.  Tonight on my run as I smelled fall in the air (yes I just admitted it :() I was thinking of new rhythms for my family for fall.  I’ll see how many of them end up working out…

6 responses

  1. Claire

    maybe if I start to enjoy it enough I can be a running friend. 🙂 good for you, Leah!

    August 30, 2010 at 5:05 am

    • Guaranteed you can go farther than me right now – give me a few months and then we can 🙂

      August 31, 2010 at 9:47 pm

  2. You ALMOST make me want to start running 😉 Good on you, Leah.

    Do you listen to music while you run? Or do you just enjoy the quiet?

    August 30, 2010 at 9:32 pm

    • Depends – right now the quiet.

      August 31, 2010 at 9:48 pm

  3. I just went for MY first post-baby run last week… it went better, and worse, than expected. But it was good. And I am with you – it is crucial to all aspects of my health. I really love running. We got an awesome treadmill second hand a year and a half ago, and I am SO looking forward to having a way to exercise this winter without worrying about childcare, or cold, slippery weather. Good for you on the run! And glad that you’ve found me over at my blog! 🙂

    August 31, 2010 at 4:17 pm

    • Better and worse for me too. I still have to figure something out for winter- I hate going out when it is below -20…
      I found you via Claire – nice to see you here 🙂

      August 31, 2010 at 9:52 pm

Leave a Reply

