God's day. This is the day that the Lord has made; Let us rejoice and be glad in it. Psalm 118: 24

Love Notes

Liam is attending his first half day camp with two of his cousins right now.  This was the perfect summer to do this:  he is ready and enjoying almost every minute – he doesn’t even look back when he gets dropped off.  He gets to catch insects, frogs, see animals and make crafts with his two cousins, and eat lunch from his backpack.  Seeing how he doesn’t go to school he has never needed a packed lunch before.  I thought back to the odd time I took a bag lunch growing up (I went to school but came home for lunch) when my mom took the time to make it really special.  The extra snack, the little note with a picture, still really stand out in my mind as an act of love my busy mother of four took the time to perform for me.

So I packed his lunch and threw in a little note.  At five he isn’t reading but has an ever-expanding sight vocabulary, so I choose a simple (but perhaps the most powerful) message he could read by himself.

Turned out he loved it.  I think it really helped us stay connected during his day away and out and about in the world.  Which makes for a happy boy, a happy mommy and a happy relationship between us.

2 responses

  1. That’s awesome. I’m a big fan of the notes in the lunchbag. I put notes in Joshie’s backpack for his drama camp and he asked the teacher to read the words he didn’t quite know. One of the simple joys of expressing love XOXO

    July 28, 2010 at 6:59 pm

  2. Claire

    Awesome! We were always sent cards and notes as kids too. I sent a couple cards for Josiah when he had his cousin camp with Grammy and Papa.

    July 29, 2010 at 2:03 am

Leave a Reply

