God's day. This is the day that the Lord has made; Let us rejoice and be glad in it. Psalm 118: 24

Savouring

Last Friday some of my friends held a blessingway for me – a special evening to celebrate my upcoming birth.  There was delicious food, fun and inspiring conversation, belly hennaing, and some colourful stars made for me to hang up for during labour that are now decorating my gazebo and kitchen windows.  I left feeling very blessed and grateful for such beautiful and wise women in my life.

They also all wrote a word for me to focus on during labour – all are inspiring and meaningful for labour but one is especially fitting for how I am feeling just right now – SAVOUR

I am savouring my last days being pregnant, the miracle of being a part of growing a new life is so overwhelmingly spectacular – really it cannot be described in words.

I am savouring every last movement of this child within as I watch my belly move and stretch above the growing limbs. 

I am savouring feeling the best and most energetic I have, during any part of this pregnancy.

I am savouring my last days with two children to outwardly love and care for.

I am savouring my last days where this little one is the baby

I am savouring how big yet still how little this boy is.

I am savouring my last quiet evenings with my husband, going on dates and relaxing with him.

I am savouring the peace and sanctuary like feeling of being at home and settled.

I am savouring the different exciting outings and special time I am taking with the kids every day.

I am savouring a good nights sleep and naps.

I am savouring the bittersweetness of getting birth supplies ready for my last birth.

I am savouring reading and re-reading the verses I am meditating on for my upcoming labour.

I am savouring this time in my life that I know I will look back upon with longing and love.

A just over 40 weeks belly.

4 responses

  1. Tammy

    beautiful Leah…your mindset, your pregnant self, and family. i love the word savour too! what a special time.

    June 26, 2010 at 11:25 am

  2. Claire

    those are beautiful pictures!!! WOW! Great mindset and what a lot of wonderful things to savour! What are the verses you are meditating on? I’m still so sad I missed being part of your blessing. Can’t wait to meet that baby!

    June 26, 2010 at 2:22 pm

  3. Thanks Tammy and Claire.

    June 27, 2010 at 11:10 pm

  4. I remember similar feelings when I was pregnant with Shaelyn, knowing she would be the last child I would have the privilege of carrying inside of me. Blessings to you, Leah, on moments to savour!

    June 28, 2010 at 1:36 am

Leave a Reply

