God's day. This is the day that the Lord has made; Let us rejoice and be glad in it. Psalm 118: 24

As good a time as any – update

Just keeping it real here:  I washed my hair with my regular shampoo – it feels so soft and silky.  I promised myself I would try two weeks on the baking soda and did.  It wasn’t so much how my hair looked (although I did wear a pony tail every day) but the texture (greasy with the texture of horse hair).  I am not giving up on finding a happy alternative hair method – but have decided that being 35 weeks pregnant is not a very tolerable time for me to have bad hair when so many other physical things are just not normal that I really just want good hair.  (Yes this may be vanity but honestly, good hair is about all I have to cling to beauty wise these days).  So once baby is born I plan on trying out a few other methods (including maybe revisiting the baking soda, I have heard pregnancy is not a good time to start and even that people give it up during pregnancy who have been doing it for years.)  I have a shampoo bar recipe that is first up…

2 responses

  1. Claire

    good point – pregnancy is probably not the best time to try that out, too many other physical changes! However, you look fantastic, honestly!! And not just your hair.

    May 20, 2010 at 6:26 am

  2. Kim

    I’ve done the baking soda thing a couple of times. The first time was when my hair was really long a few years ago and I totally dried it out and wrecked the ends. I think I used too much baking soda and rinsed too often with apple cider vinegar. This time around, I’ve been switched over since January and it’s working really well. I do a teaspoon or so in a cup of water and then once or twice a week I do an apple cider vinegar rinse with a few tablespoons in a cup of water. It’s working really well for me, and actually it felt really odd to use shampoo when we were out of town recently.

    I think you’re right that your hair might do better when you’re not pregnant. Those darned hormones wonky everything. 🙂 I’ve also heard that for some people there’s a big period of adjustment and then it goes well after that.

    May 20, 2010 at 3:11 pm

Leave a Reply

