God's day. This is the day that the Lord has made; Let us rejoice and be glad in it. Psalm 118: 24

Good a time as any…

Visiting at my mom and dad’s is a bit like living in a time warp.  I may have a slight tendency to romanticise Little House on the Prairie type living, so it is interesting to be experiencing a small removal of the modern conveniences first hand.

My parents currently live in a very, very old, very, very small farmhouse.

Furnace = wood fireplace

Shower = plastic sheeting with a hose coming out of the tap (thank goodness there is a hot water heater)

Window = a single pane of sliding glass with a hole in it, so you can slide it open (no screens) – this gives the same idea as camping in a tent, you can hear everything outside and by morning the inside temperature is very similar to the outside temperature

Dishwasher = a single small sink

Washer = having to hook up a bunch of stuff to the kitchen sink

Master bedroom = living room, because in winter it was too cold to sleep anywhere farther from the fire

I would love to show you some pictures of this, but I am on dial up here…

Today the kids and I woke up, put on hoodies, made oatmeal for breakfast, got washed up/dressed, washed dishes by hand, washed laundry by hand, hung it outside and  fed, watered and changed the bedding for the chicks.  I took a splurge into luxury and had a shower and discovered I forgot my shampoo.  So I decided it would be as good a time as any to try no shampoo.

I have already majorly cut back on my cosmetics purchases over the past year or so.  I started with dry brushing, then started making my own soap after a friend who has lots of experience had a group of us over to give us a demo (which I love doing and is super easy, if you follow the recipe and have the right tools).  I already only wear mascara and lip balm (which I also started making myself but haven’t found a perfect recipe yet).  Last week I made lotion with a friend and love the recipe, so will continue doing that. 

I have been thinking of giving up shampoo and going to the baking soda method for a long time, but told myself I would do it when I ran out of my last bottle of shampoo I already had.  I know a handful of real life people who already do this and of course if you google it, there are tons of blog posts about it.  I ran out of conditioner many months ago, so basically was forced off of that, by way of my pledge.  The first week or two was iffy, but after that my hair adjusted and has done nicely without conditioner ever since.  This morning my hair was pretty gross, and came out surprisingly nicely.  I used four tsp. of baking soda in four cups of water and just dumped over a cup of it on my head, rubbed it a bit and rinsed.  I might try the paste method (where you use a bit of baking soda and water to make a paste and massage it in, then rinse) next time I wash.  So now to see if it really will be this easy of a switch over, or if I end up with dry/greasy/stinky/staticy hair and discover if that is why they always wore braids in the Little House books 🙂

7 responses

  1. Claire

    Sounds…rustic? 🙂

    I can’t do the no shampoo/conditioner thing. My hair is awful without it, I tried for a whole month. Although, I didn’t use the baking soda thing, I used a home-made soap bar that had rave reviews. But still…nasty nasty nasty.

    May 5, 2010 at 5:06 am

    • Leah

      I am feeling the same right now – my hair is pretty gross but I am going to stick it out for another week anyway.

      May 12, 2010 at 6:17 am

  2. aimee

    I use baking soda and have been for 6 months or so. It works really good for me. I occasionally use Apple cider vinegar as a conditioner, but find my hair gets greasy if I use it too often. Some blog posts about it offer “troubleshooting” sections if you are finding it is not working. That’s where I learned about not using the ACV everytime. I’ve tried the paste – just mixing it in my hand and rubbing it in, and ended up going back to mixing it in a cup of water and pouring that over my head. Hope you find something that works for you! Enjoy rustic living!

    May 5, 2010 at 7:43 pm

    • Leah

      Aimee – how long was your adjustment period – I am one week in and my hair is pretty unmanagable and gross – wondering how longer I need to wait?

      May 12, 2010 at 6:15 am

  3. Susan

    Hey Leah – found your blog…just wondering – how do you make your own soap? Is it really easy???

    May 5, 2010 at 9:50 pm

    • Leah

      Hey Susan,
      I think it is easy – it takes about an hour to make a big batch including set up and clean up. I use the cold process method (easily googled by people who know much more than I do). If I get some time this week, I will post my favourite recipe.

      May 12, 2010 at 6:17 am

  4. Aaron

    Glad you are thoroughly having “fun”. I did not know about this anti-shampoo thingy… but as to not sound pushy. One of the many things I love about you is rubbing your back at night and smelling your nice “CLEAN” hair, freshly cleansed by nice smelling commercially bought shampoo! Baking soda is for cakes, cookies, and vinegar volcanoes. You may use my organic shampoo (ingeredients are essentially tree sap and water) . Wait… that doesnt sound much better =). xoxo

    Aaron

    May 8, 2010 at 11:26 pm

Leave a Reply

