God's day. This is the day that the Lord has made; Let us rejoice and be glad in it. Psalm 118: 24

Thirty one

Yesterday I turned 31.  This is never something I thought I would want to write about.  I assumed as I got older birthdays would at best be no big deal and at worst an unwanted reminder that I am getting older and my youth is slipping away.  But really I am so happy and thankful and content with where I am right now.  If you would have asked me ten years ago what my life would be like, I would not have guessed anywhere near where I am at, but right now there is no where else I would rather be.  Where I am right now makes me very thankful to God for working good in everything.  When times have seemed impossibly hard and I have acted unbelievably stupidly I can now look back and see that solely by the grace of God, I experienced growth because of those times.  I am very grateful for my growing faith, my (also growing) family, the best friends I have ever had the privilege of having and with how comfortable I am with myself right now.  Thirty one seems really good so far.

Although not my perfect day (we had our house inspected, so I had to get it ready for that: read last-minute cleaning that just had to be done right before the inspection) lots of good things happened.  I got to read in bed with my kiddos, play with them, eat yummy food, finish a good book, go out for supper, was gifted a vitamix (squeal!), come home to documentation finalizing the sale of our house, and eat turtle cheese cake made by my husband, with candles placed just so by my kids and just felt very loved and content.  I’m hoping for more birthdays like this one.

My kiddos helping to blow out the candles.

2 responses

  1. A beautiful birthday for a beautiful person. BTW – does Aaron cater? LOL. The cake looks delish!

    April 25, 2010 at 1:15 am

    • Leah

      I know I am still enjoying that cake – yummy!

      April 25, 2010 at 1:32 am

Leave a Reply

