God's day. This is the day that the Lord has made; Let us rejoice and be glad in it. Psalm 118: 24

There once was a woman who went to university and thus thought she could raise her kids without gender stereotypes…

My son needed new runners, so he went shopping with my husband.  I was told that the necessary qualifications were that they were the fastest, hardest kicking,  highest jumping runners.  Upon putting on his shoes for the first time Liam was telling Raine and I that his shoes were ‘super fast’.  Raine wanted us to look at her shoes too, so I asked her if her shoes were ‘super fast’ as well.

She said ‘No, mine princess dancing’ and twirled in a circle.  Well that about sums it up…

3 responses

  1. Tammy

    LOVE IT! It’s amazing how they gravitate to those gender stereotypes. Now my nephew he loves his trucks but he also loves his Ariel doll and dressing like a princess when he comes to visit his female cousins. Did I know about this blog?? Where have I been??!

    March 16, 2010 at 1:17 pm

  2. I watched Joshie play with a barbie doll at his preschool the other day. He held the doll up on the castle and said to the boys playing nearby: “I’m a princess. Help me get down!” Then he took the barbie into the middle of the playroom and whirled her around. He seemed mesmerized by the barbie’s hair flailing in the breeze. It was so innocent…until the teacher noticed and gave me a funny look. Darn judgments.

    March 16, 2010 at 3:58 pm

  3. ps – thanks for including me on your blog 🙂

    March 16, 2010 at 3:58 pm

Leave a Reply

