God's day. This is the day that the Lord has made; Let us rejoice and be glad in it. Psalm 118: 24

Love Day

 

We spent love day with messages for my loves.

And messages from my loves (with much excitement from Liam as he made this cards all by himself, in secret to deliver Love Day morning to us in bed.)

I used to squirm away from Valentines day – I suppose never living up to the Hallmark commercial standard, the overconsumption overtones (you must BUY something to show your loved one how much you love them – how much it costs is in direct relation to the size of your love)  combined with years of working in the restaurant industry during university (Valentines was the worst day of the year to work for many reasons) gave this holiday a bad rap in my holiday status.

But recently I had a change of heart –  I love my husband, I love my kiddos, I love my parents, siblings and friends.  Why not take the extra excuse to celebrate all that love God has placed smack dab in the middle of my life with great joy?

We had a low key day as the kids both have colds, yet the kids were thrilled with their cards, we loved Liam’s energy and excitement he put into making and giving his, I loved my husbands words in mine and to top off the day he cooked us the most delicious supper with a special dessert.  Makes me think about having speical days to celebrate love more often.

Leave a Reply

